Prevent Facebook Messenger from Accessing Your Phonebook

Normally, after Facebook Messenger is installed on your Android smartphone and is in the process of initial setup, it prompts you to sync your phonebook with the app. When you do so, all the members from your phonebook who are also using Facebook Messenger can be viewed in the ‘PEOPLE WITH MESSENGER’ list within the Messenger app.

If you don't want your entire phonebook synced with Facebook Messenger, follow these steps to uncouple the two:

    ■Turn on your Android phone.
    ■Tap the menu icon to go to the apps list.
    (img01)
    ■Locate and tap the Messenger app icon.

    ■From the next interface that opens up, tap the Settings icon (gear icon) from the top-right corner.
    ■On the Settings interface, tap the Synced contacts option.

    ■When the Synced contacts popup box comes up, tap the OK button to provide your consent to stop the messenger from accessing your phonebook.


 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
J Social Networking 1
Anonymous0332 Social Networking 0
M Social Networking 1
Barkifarki Social Networking 1
M Social Networking 1
F Social Networking 3
T Social Networking 1
K Social Networking 2
S Social Networking 0
H Social Networking 0
J Social Networking 1
G Social Networking 3
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
viveknayyar007 Social Networking 0
viveknayyar007 Social Networking 0
G Social Networking 1

ASK THE COMMUNITY