32GB eMMC too small

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


OK....
We need a little backstory here.
What hardware do you have?
What "apps" are you trying to install?
What OS is this?

However...
I have a little Asus Transformer, with a 32GB eMMC drive, and a secondary 64GB SD card.
Currently, Win 10 Home.

Sure, you can install things on that SD card.
The 32GB drive is STILL too small for real use, but you can
 

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0
I'm running an ASUS Aspire r3-131T with windows 10. I'm trying to run Open Office, LastPass, and other programs. Of course, there's not much room on the eMMC to do much of anything, even upgrades on the priority programs. I was hoping I could launch apps from the D: drive, but that doesn't seem to be the case.
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


Yes, you should be able to install applications on the D drive.

Uninstall it from where it is now.
Reinstall, but you tell it where to install. Don't just accept the default.
The vast majority of applications allow this.

However...that 32GB drive is still too small, even if it were only the OS.
 

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0


 

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0
The problem isn't downloading the apps to the SD card. That is easy... the problem is that I want to USE those apps, but it seems that that can't be done from the SD card. For example, I prefer using Firefox as my browser, but by using FF, I lose a good portion of the tiny 32gb eMMC. Especially when so much is taken up by priority programs. So, to use let's say LastPass, a password vault, I would have to uninstall the FF, to have room to run the LP! That make it useless, if it can't be used with the browser. Is my only choice to go with the pre-installed programs? I have a copy of Open Office that I'd like to use, instead of everything "on the cloud," but again, no room on the eMMC. To have to install and uninstall various programs to use them singularly, is like going back to the 5 1/2" floppy disc!
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator
On my Asus Transformer, same size drive. I have installed on the C drive:
Win 10 32bit
FireFox
Foxit PDF reader
IrfanView
Macrium Reflect
Malwarebytes
paint.net
VLC
WinDirStat
TeamViewer
Skype

All those are tiny.

Currently, 15.9GB free from 28.5GB usable drive size.
OpenOffice would fit easily.


OK...and I just installed OOo 4.1.2.
Result...15.1GB free. So it sucked up 0.8GB of the drive.
Still usable.

And OpenOffice DOES give you the ability to install it to whichever drive you choose, and run it from that drive.
My Transformer sees the microSD card as just another drive. 64GB.

 

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0
Just checked my Windows Properties on my "C" drive, and it come in at 15.9GB! Something is really wrong! That's where all the space is being consumed! I'll go now and check if I can delete somethings without problems.... just not sure what to delete!!
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


Install and run WinDirStat

Check your setting for pagefile, hibernation, System Restore points.
All major space suckers.
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


1. You have to run that as an Administrator

2. Please post a screencap of the output here.
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


1. 3.7GB Recovery partition. You can likely get rid of that. Just sucking up space.

2. Did you check the other settings I mentioned above? hibernation, etc.
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0
pagefile, hibernation, System Restore points Not found on the WDS screen... No backup has been done, so no restore point. Searching Windows for Hibernation...
 

USAFRet

Splendid
Moderator


No, they won't show up there.
Well...maybe hibernation will.

Just to be sure, turn it OFF
https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/819-hibernate-enable-disable.html

Restore Points...you have to go into the setting for that and see what it is set to.
This PC
Properties
System Protection

What is it set at?
 

Lifechng1946

Estimable
Jul 2, 2014
20
0
4,560
0
OK, I got as far as to save to paint. Now I've got to upload to tinypic, but I still don't know how to get it from Paint onto my hardrive to upload. Is it already saved in a file? Under what? Thanks for your patience...
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
N Laptop General Discussion 0
CHUGGUM Laptop General Discussion 0
G Laptop General Discussion 1
Y Laptop General Discussion 2
I Laptop General Discussion 3
D Laptop General Discussion 1
A Laptop General Discussion 1
I Laptop General Discussion 8
M Laptop General Discussion 6
D Laptop General Discussion 2
CyberBlade Laptop General Discussion 2
W Laptop General Discussion 5
H Laptop General Discussion 2
S Laptop General Discussion 1
S Laptop General Discussion 1
Mike Andronico Laptop General Discussion 2
M Laptop General Discussion 1
D Laptop General Discussion 4
B Laptop General Discussion 7
MasterPCbuilder Laptop General Discussion 1

ASK THE COMMUNITY