Am I limited to EF-S?

soldier5637

Honorable
May 7, 2013
Hey there, I'm new to the world of photography but RAPIDLY delving right into it all. I just got my SL1 (For a 12 pack of beer I might add) and a STM IS 18-55 kit lens. This is a fine lens for lots of things but I find myself aching to shoot astro photography. I have tried and gotten alright results with this lens, but my question is this: Can I use the EF 50mm lens on my SL1 with an APS-C sensor? Well I know it will fit, but will it not crop the image so something like an 80mm lens? I've read very confusing comments, some making it seem so and some not.

overclockingrocks

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2006
Yes you can use EF lenses on an APS-C sensor camera with no issues. APSC just magnifies things by a factor of 1.6x vs a full frame 35mm equivalent sensor. IE a 50mm lens on APS-C is the same view as 85mm on a full frame. that's why people use 50mm lenses on APS-C for portrait work.

So short answer yes it will work and yes it will crop the image. If you want the 50mm equivalent FOV a ~30mm lens with the 1.6x crop factor would be your best bet. There is a 24mm pancake which would do well. I own a 50D so it's the same size sensor and I use a 50mm for potraits. Works well. stop down a bit to around 2.8~4 and you'll get nice subject separation and great sharpness. another great hint is set your flash to +1 bounce it off the ceiling and work at F5.6 with an iso of 500 produces amazing images

You can use all EF and EF-S lenses on the SL1, though longer EF lenses may feel sluggish due to lower motor driving power. EF and EF-S lenses use the same focal length assumptions, so a 50mm EF will look the same as a 50mm EF-S. Any sensor based cropping (not really cropping, rather smaller capture area) will be the same regardless of if it's EF or EF-S.