Amazon Consdering a Book Rental Library Service

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pawessum16

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
Umm the library is free, has real books you can hold in your hands, is free, has no so called late fees (seriously what library has late fees? Mine just starts nagging me more and more until they call it lost and make me pay for the book), and oh yeah did I mention it is FREE (besides a few of your precious tax dollars)!!!!! Plus when you start getting into university libraries you start to find old limited print relics that you'd never find online.

G

I used to be a librarian. This is very, very, very, very, sad. But, yes, I would consider it.

LORD_ORION

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2007
If was an author, I would tell google to go take a flying F.

I would not want 1 license of my book being floated between all the internet users of the world while google made a buck off of this advertising.

G

"Amazon Consdering a Book Rental Library Service" . . . and what has happened to spell-check ???

cohetedor

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2010
I could see this working, maybe price it to match Netflix at 7.99 a month for unlimited books but only one downloaded at a time, then tack on say another dollar for each additional book you want out at the same time. Vast majority probably only get through one at most two a month but the convenience of not having to go to the library would be worth it for a lot of people.

wallaw

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2011
Absolutely! I just bought 3 books on Abebook last night because they were all checked out with a waiting list at my large metropolitan library.

alidan

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2009