Question Anti-Virus & Anti-Malware Questions

Aug 21, 2021
When I was a kid, my grandpa bought Norton Anti-Virus for me. A premium version of Malwarebytes was also acquired by him.

Then a few years later, I find myself relying entirely on Windows Defender. Would a premium solution or a mix of solutions function better than Windows Defender in terms of detecting and cleaning up viruses and other malicious software? No, I'm not a newbie when it comes to computers or security, but I've never delved into anti-virus.

COLGeek

Cybernaut
Actually, Windows Defender is no worse than the paid applications, or the other free ones.

The best AV is the squishy stuff between your ears, but Win Defender is just fine as a software solution.
Agreed, 100% on both points. Like USAFRet, I would be considered an "advanced user" and Defender is what I rely upon on all of my Windows systems. Zero issues.

BEAUFORD_SAVAGE

Prominent
Sep 6, 2020
Agreed, 100% on both points. Like USAFRet, I would be considered an "advanced user" and Defender is what I rely upon on all of my Windows systems. Zero issues.
As someone who does repairs of both hardware and software issues of all kinds, including bailing out those with ransomware, and no back up, I am also an advanced user.
So you believe that the Bitdefender and Malwarebytes that play well together that I use is a waste of money? This is a serious question, and with an open mind. I do use Torrent services. Both applications catch all sorts of things, but I REALLY don't know if I am getting my moneys worth, as Microsoft IS the manufacturer of our O.S.'s
Also, I regularly do hard drive cloning with Acronis when I know everything is working right, and freshly scanned by both AV programs. That I would do regardless in case my C drive fails. With the cloning, it would never take me more than 5 minutes to get back to a exact same system, no matter what happens. C drive is OS and engineering and other programs only, other drives contain all my data.