Architecture application requirements

callumorr

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Hey guys
i am an architecture student who also does abit of gaming. I am thinking about upgrading my current PC and laptop.
i currently am thinking of upgrading my pc to a i7 3770k cpu and p8 z77 pro motherboard. However alot of people said to check is the architecture programs required hyperthreading, as if not then the i5 would be worth going for.
any advice on if programs like Indesign, Photoshop, 3DS Max, and Auto Cad require it would be great.??
i am also looking to change my laptop and am very tempted to get an ultralportable, such as the samsung series 9 or series 7 ultra, however i dont know if these will have enough cpu grunt to cope with light work on the above programs??
any advice would be great!
thanks

MeneerWitte

Honorable
Nov 27, 2012

:hello:

Kindly I ask your attention. :D

When you need specs about anything,

Start your browser, use different search engines and use different phrases:

(Program name) requirements or specs if you like

Do this with all the programs you will need, ask ad school how many programs will be used ad once, count one more and your done. You can do this for your notebook/laptop and your computer.

What you could do next is asking ad the software firms if there will be software updates that will ask more calculating power of your system over the years.

And if you like, you could have a second monitor. So, you could do two tasks visual ad one computer and another ad your notebook/laptop. Or maybe a second one ad your notebook/laptop too.

What I would recogment is enough RAM and a second HDD. 8 till 16 Gige and the second HDD/SSD for more virtual RAM.
When you get the computer and you look ad the virtual RAM of the system, Windows keeps it low. I always set it to amount of RAM installed and minimum about half and the second one too.