Best laptops for writing?

sikonawt

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2004
I've been buying and building PCs for 15+ years now and am used to evaluating hardware choices based on the usual criteria. I'm now trying to select a laptop to use almost exclusively for writing, and I'm at a bit of a loss as few people talk about what is likely the most important feature to me: the quality of the keyboard.

I'd like a laptop with a keyboard that is easy to type on accurately and comfortably for long periods. I touchpad that isn't going to get accidentally triggered constantly while I type is also a must.

Secondary characteristics that are also desirable:

1. Runs cool
2. Good battery life
3. Lightweight

Any ideas for machines that I should focus in on?

Solution
Lenovo ThinkPads are generally known for having very good keyboards. The link below is for the recently released 14" ThinkPad E450 with a starting price of $579 and weighs in at 4lbs. By default it comes with a Haswell generation Core i3-4005u CPU @1.7GHz, but you should select the new Broadwell generation Core i3-5005u @ 2.0GHz. Broadwell CPUs consumes less power so you get longer battery life; it does not hurt that is clocked at a faster speed and is a free upgrade. Lenovo rates the laptop's battery life at up to 8 hours. However, actual battery life depends on what you do with it.

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/thinkpad/e-series/e450/

Below is a link to the 15.6" ThinkPad E550 and is basically the same as the E450 with the...

sikonawt

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2004

I think I can best describe what I am looking for as something with light resistance and a design where the touchpad rarely or never gets triggered accidentally when using the keyboard. That last part is the bane of my existence when typing on a laptop. I know that most of not all touchpads can be locked, but it is also annoying having to lock and unlock each time you want to use it/stop using it.