Peet

Distinguished
Nov 13, 2006
Hello everyone,
I'm looking forward of buying a new digital camera. I would like to spend around 250$ for it. I chose 2 models : Canon Powershot A530 with 1 Gb memory card and SONY DSC-S 600. Please help me choose one of them. I'm not into digital cameras, so I don't know much about them.
The Canon camera comes with an 1GB memory card :D . The Sony doesn't include a memory card. :cry:
What do you think which one is the better? I'm not a professional photographer so I don't need very high-tech stuff just a good camera to take some good pictures.
Thanks.

rexter

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
Given the choices between the two I would go for Canon, As far as I know Sony uses the same CCD Sensor that Canon has, and as far as digital camera's concern Canon has a small lead on their technology, But Sony has 6 Mega Pixel. Tough choice.

Hope somebody else could shed more light on this.

If I would suggest a camera and close to the price range your at. I would say the Fuji Finepix F10. Is far better on taken pictures inside the house or at night. Which is more likely you'll be using it to.

I would be getting and digital P&S next month, gift for my wife and I will be checking on the new Finepix F31. I read some reviews that tier good for their Super CCD censor. I hope you'll get more opinions that knows more of the two given camera in question. good luck.

Please check the link below to give you more of input of your buying decision.
Fuji FINEPIX F10

phamily

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006
alright, you can't really purchase a camera by asking people what THEY would get. Digital cameras should be a personal choice, so i suggest you go to your nearest camera shop and test them out your self.

but, i've had great experience with sony digital cameras and that model sony model you've posted should be what you are looking for, as you said you are not into professional photography, it is a perfect camera for you.

Peet

Distinguished
Nov 13, 2006