Do you think paid Antivirus is much better then free Antivirus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ricky121

Prominent
Jul 13, 2017
we all are living in the environment of technology and we all use computer, laptop, tablet, phone etc. When we face the problem of virus on our device, first thing we search free.....!!!

Solution
It would be wrong to assume that all subscription-based AV is better than any free one.

It depends which free one you choose - - Comodo AV is free but it's as good as any subscription-based antivirus in my experience - I've been using it for six years on three computers and none of them have ever been infected with any type of malware.

On the other hand, I would never put my trust in the free Avira or AVG products.

Avast Free is probably the next best to Comodo where free ones are concerned.

The Comodo & Avast staff don't work for nothing ("no1 works for free") - - they sell other software products (for corporate users etc) and this income allows them to offer free products for the individual home user.

JoshRoss

Estimable
Jul 11, 2017
Paid anti-virus have a lot of features. The basic functionality of virus scanning, detection, cloud detection and probably heuristics are usually part of the free version. What paid versions of software can give you are more thorough and specific defense against major malware groups. Ransomware, Trojans, Viruses, Adware/browser hijackers. Explicitly checking for such issues (They also include bigger and more thorough databases for each group), that leads to slightly better protection. In addition to that, you usually get decent 24/7 support. MUCH better? Not really. Better? Sure.

It would be wrong to assume that all subscription-based AV is better than any free one.