First ever post! Hello Tom'sHardware! (p.s. i need laptop help)

Hau5fly

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
Hey Guys,

First ever post! I’ve been looking to buy a laptop and have combed the internet for advice and information and this Forum looks really helpful!

I am looking to buy a laptop for no more than £300 (roughly $450 – but I will have to buy from the UK).

As a recent graduate of a course that I no longer want anything to do with I want to try my hand at web design/digital illustration. As these will be tentative steps into a world that I could either love or hate I don’t want to make a heavy investment to begin with. Thus I am hoping to get away with a (cheapish) laptop that can let me do the fundamentals, i.e. run Photoshop, illustrator, Dreamweaver…

I know that these programmes will demand a decent processor/RAM/Hard Drive (which I have very little knowledge on)

So I ask you, my esteemed friends, are there any products that come to mind?

Here’s a laptop that has taken my eye.

It’s an Asus K52N-EX366V

AMD Phenom II N660 3GHz (no idea about processors, is this better than i3? Dual core?)
3GB RAM (if I pay a little more I can get 4GB, do I need to?)
320GB HDD (not massively important as I have a 1TB external HDD)
15.6" HD LED (I Like)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD4200 (I assume this is good?)
HDMI port (essential for me)

This all comes to £330. I know a little over budget, but seems reasonable…

So go easy on me, these might be dumbass questions but im very green!

P.S. is Asus a good manufacturer?

cats_Paw

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2007
Asus: good manufacturer.
3 or 4 gb, 4 if possible, only with 64 bit operating system.
Gpu is bad, but good enought for work/office/photoshop/ *cant say dreamweaver or illustrator, dont know em.

About cpus and so on, check www.notebookcheck.org. there is a section comparing mobile cpus and gpus so you know what it can do (but its mostly focused on games).

AntiZig

Distinguished
Hello and welcome to Tom's hardware.