GameStop Buys Stolen Games

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I worked as an assistant manager at a gamestop many years ago... and was told by my regional manager that if i couldn't "prove" that the games were stolen... as in if I "didn't see it" then i was to buy back the game/item...

many occasions we would see the same person enter the store several times a day to sell stuff... often similar items... like who has 7 nintendo64 controllers.....

buckiller

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2006
yeah... my roomie had his ps2 stolen and he checked all the stores and found it at Gamestop. Once he showed proof of ownership (and they looked at the security camera footage to see who sold it) he got it back no problem. For what it's worth.

Pei-chen

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2007
[citation][nom]Vikk[/nom]I worked as an assistant manager at a gamestop many years ago... and was told by my regional manager that if i couldn't "prove" that the games were stolen... as in if I "didn't see it" then i was to buy back the game/item...many occasions we would see the same person enter the store several times a day to sell stuff... often similar items... like who has 7 nintendo64 controllers.....[/citation]
Or that person might be buying these items bulk on eBay to sell to GameStop for profit.

G

I have tried to buy brand new games at Gamestop before and they open up these CD sleeves with a game in them that is obviously not brand new and put them into a used case... and try to charge me full retail price for it.

This aren't isolated events either... this has happened at least five times to me at multiple locations in Texas.

I refuse to shop at Gamestop anymore. If I want a used game I'll find it on craigslist or eBay.

G

Lets all boycott walmart. They take anything back for credit, and much of it is probably stolen. I guess the same could be said for pawn shops. Wait, here's a better idea. Lets start a coup d'etat because we KNOW most of the politicians steal.
/lame article conclusion

G