Gaming Laptop - Asus vs Lenovo

Greavar

Estimable
Apr 22, 2014
So, I'm in the market for a first time laptop purchase. I'm a web developer, and also a gamer. So these would be the primary two uses for it. I'd say my budget is around the 1k mark, but I'm will to place another 2-300 max for something worth while.

I came across these two, and was wondering which is superior. Over-heating, and weight are two of my concerns (as well as hardware)

http://www.amazon.com/G750JM-DS71-17-3-inch-Gaming-GeForce-Graphics/dp/B00IKF2H12/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

http://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-IdeaPad-59385820-15-6-Inch-Laptop/dp/B00F32ZBN6/ref=psdc1_t2_B00HIY8TNQ_B00F32ZBN6

Just wondering if I could get some advice to steer me in the direction of an awesome laptop. Either one of these or even something else entirely. Thank you!

860M is better than the 750M SLi
860M is a single card setup so there's less heat
the asus rog series is renowned for having excellent build quality and cooling
both are heavy laptops, but the asus rog is 1kg heavier and isn't very portable - you need a big ass backpack
asus rog inevitably wins.

Kane5784

Estimable
Apr 22, 2014
Both system are very good choices and very similar. Here's a breakdown by components.

CPU: Processors are almost identical, the Lenovo has a slightly slower CPU graphics (not that you'll be using it) and supports Intel's VT-d for better virtualized I/O devices. Win=Lenovo

GPU: The Asus most likely has better graphics with the 860M, however there are 2 variations of the 860M (GM107 & GM104). The slower variation would be comparable to 750M SLI, if your game supports SLI. Win=Asus

HDD: The Lenovo wins this hands down with the additional 8GB SSD cache. This is no comparison to a full SSD, but is leaps and bounds above just a HDD.

Memory: Lenovo, you get 4 extra GBs