Gaming/Work Laptop ~1500

scjohnson243

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2011
1. What is your budget?
1500 - 2000

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
17" would be nice

3. What screen resolution do you want?
1920 if possible

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
Desktop Replacement - I will be primarily using this for my work (programming, cad work, etc) but would like to game on it when i'm out of town in hotels and such. - I play games like Battlefield 3, Diablo 3, etc.

5. How much battery life do you need?
Not really important, will be plugged in 99% of the time

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

Higher is better, Diablo 3, Battlefield 3, etc, etc.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
I'm a programmer, so oracle/PHP programming mostly - At times some graphics editing (Adobe suite)

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
As much as possible! :) 750+GB would be nice.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
I would like to use NewEgg, I already have an account setup, and have always had good luck with them

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
Longer is better -- 3-4 years would be the max

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?
I never really use any of these... I guess would be nice, but not really a game changer either way

12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.
I'm not as set on a specific brand, I have used Dell in the past, but seems like the alienware are a bit higher priced, and I dont really want a glowing laptop for work (Looks cool, but I dont want to give the impression that its a "toy)

13. What country do you live in?
US