GPU-Assisted Malware Can Be Difficult to Detect

Status
Not open for further replies.

duzcizgi

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2006
[citation][nom]mayankleoboy1[/nom]assholes just gave an idea to the hackers[/citation]

Considering there are about 6 billion people in the world and also considering that the hackers have all above average education and intelligence, this paper is not giving them any new ideas but just warning the rest of the community on this possiblitiy.

As the paper states, it is nearly impossible to detect such a malware with the conventional methots that we all use in our current "security suites" that we pay subscription for security of our computer.

In short, there's no guarantee that someone already exploited this (if I was a malware author, I'd have silently used it and shut my mouth) but none of our antivirus/antimalware programs were able to even detect its presence!

Rancifer7

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2008
I wonder how well it will unpack on the massively parallel integrated Intel graphics?

Maybe now the malware can play Crysis..

g00fysmiley

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2010
[citation][nom]rhino13[/nom]Here we go!One more feature of my system Norton will kneecap.[/citation]

somebody on tom's uses norton? >_< move past the bloatware. avg free or something.. really almost anything (short of macafee) will be less full of bloatware

bear_jesus

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
would gpu load not give it away, for one would the gpu not go from idle clock speeds to loaded speeds and also from 0% load to anything above it?

g-thor

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2008
People who develop malware and viruses and trojans make the computing world a "dangerous" place. Yet now we really need to have computers to carry on business. Maybe it's time for governments to make developing malware, etc. a very dangerous profession.

fusion_gtx

Distinguished
May 20, 2010
[citation][nom]yyk71200[/nom]So, will NVidia and ATI will have to incorporate an antivirus into their drivers?[/citation]