Question How concerned should I be about this?

matchgirl42

Estimable
Feb 4, 2019
I'm an average user with just enough know-how about the innards of computers to do basic hardware repairs, but I'm no expert.

So this is a bit of a saga, back in January my sister bought an ASUS Vivobook 17 for me, from Best Buy, shipped to my home. When I opened the box and started up the laptop, I noticed a small spot of cosmetic damage on the plastic around the screen, but I'm not the type to fuss about a small amount of cosmetic damage as long as the item works correctly (but I guess it's time to start doing so!).

Within a few weeks of use, I started noticing the system tray battery icon switching back and forth between "plugged in, charging" and "battery power" while the laptop was plugged in; when the icon read "battery power" the time remaining was fluctuating between as little as an hour to 137 hours; and the brick on the charge cord was getting very hot. I went to the ASUS website, which directed me to take the unit to a Best Buy store for diagnostics, as Best Buy is an authorized service center for/is under contract with ASUS to provide warranty repair for ASUS laptops purchased from Best Buy.

When the unit was brought to Best Buy, they said they couldn't even diagnose it for us, since we hadn't purchased Best Buy's extended warranty, and without us purchasing the Geek Squad service plan. So I had to contact the ASUS warranty department via phone, explain that Best Buy refused to service it, and get an RMA so I could send the laptop to ASUS's repair center.

The ASUS repair tech said they couldn't reproduce the problem, but since there was cosmetic damage, they voided my warranty and sent the unit back to me.