How to wire speakers properley to an amp

James_Huxter

Estimable
Jun 4, 2014
I am pretty new at wiring speakers properly, I am trying to wire 10, 20 watt 8 ohm speakers to a 30 watt amplifier.
speakers: http://w.mawebcenters.com/midwestspeaker/ecommerce/speco-sp-502a-5-1-4-2-way-in-wall-ceiling-speaker.html
amp: cant find a link for it online but i have this:
SHOW Solid State Public Address Amplifier
OUTPUT max: 30 watts
speaker inputs: COM 4 8 16
line: 25v or 70v

I was just wondering if anyone could help me out in trying to explain to me how to wire it properly so i don't blow anything

What exactly is the problem?

The speaker wires are labelled clearly to show which position (+ or -) to use.

1) s that 30W max per output or the TOTAL max?

2) And, do you actually have ten speaker connections?

3) I'm not sure what the "COM 4 8 16" means though and I'm no expert. Is that for OHM? If so, set to 8OHM.

*You really should have a manual for the amp.

To do what you want to correctly you will need to get one of these for each speaker:
http://www.lashenelectronics.com/p-551-bogen-t72510-25v-or-70v-10-watt-speaker-line-matching-transformer.aspx
That will allow you to connect all the speakers with a single two conductor run of speaker wire which can go from the amp to the closest speaker and then from that one to the next closest and so on.
Since you have a total of 30 watts and 10 speakers you would select the 2.5 watt connection on the transformer so that all the speakers will get equal power. Connect to the 25v or 75v connections.
If you want to use the regular speaker taps rather than the 25 or 75v outputs then you will have to connect three speakers in parallel (+ to +, - to -) and then connect each trio in series (+ to -, - to +). Connect the last speaker in series. Connect to the com and 16 ohms connections.

tomc53

Estimable
Jun 6, 2014

Almost right -- if you use transformers, they must match either 70v or 25v (25v is almost unheard of these days).