Keyboard not working is there a way to turn it on

Status
Not open for further replies.
Navigate to Device Manager, find keyboard, expand, right click on the keyboard & see if there is an option to enable.

How you get to device manager depends on OS. Windows 8 I have little experience with, and without typing for it (which clearly you can't do, I don't know).

W7 it's Control Panel > System & Security > Device Manager

holymaggerals

Prominent
Mar 10, 2017

Hi Jewlst and anyone else having this problem.

I have a Nextbook (E-Funbook) Model NXW10QC32G, loaded with Windows 8 that I bought at Walmart. I've since upgraded to Windows 10 and hadn't had any major problems.

The letter and number keys on my Nextbook detachable keyboard stopped working. The mouse pad and some of the functions were still operating. That is, I was able to move the cursor around with the mouse-pad and I was able to adjust the brightness of the screen by using "Fn+F4" and "Fn +F5". I had to log-in using the touch-keyboard on the tablet screen.

I tried some of the solutions that I found on-line and on "You-Tube". Here's what I did:

1. I tried disconnecting then reconnecting the screen from the keyboard (this worked in the past), but, did not fix the problem.

2. I tried changing the "Filter Keys" toggle to "off" by going to: "Settings", "Change PC Settings", "Ease of Access", "Keyboard" then "Filter Keys". This did not fix the problem.

3. I tried updating the drivers by right-clicking the "Windows" icon in the lower right corner of the toolbar then selecting "Device Manager" going to "Keyboards" and opening, then right-clicking on "HIC Keyboard Device". I then selected "Browse my computer for driver software" and then selected, "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer". At the next screen, I selected the "HIC keyboard Device" option in the boxed fields and then chose Next.

At this point the driver updated, as far as I can tell. This did not fix the problem.