Laptop for Student UK

TyGuy1996

Estimable
May 17, 2015
Hi Guys,

I need your help in picking a gaming laptop that I will also be able to do my general college work on - I'm an engineering student, so you can imagine CAD programs are a MUST....
My Budget is Circa £1500-£1700. the laptop cannot be over 15.6' I cannot imagine carrying around a 17.3' laptop all the time. I'm looking to be able to game on it as well - The games I'm looking to play are: The Whitcher 1 & 2 (maybe 3 once it's fixed) maybe GTA V and other games of that mark.

Thanks for your help in this matter and I look forward to hearing your suggestions.

Thanks,
TY

NB - There is no need to have a big hard drive - most of my documents are put onto Dropbox & external storage units however some storage is necessary.

Solution
Thing with laptops is the shelf life is generally 2 years max.
The 880m was only just over a year old before being superseded by the 980m.

If you keep your ear to the ground you can get good deals on ECG ,Asus & msi models with a 970/980m from time to time.
While a 970m may be underpowered 3 years down the line by that time a superior model will be available & your only looking at an outlay of £8-900 rather than a grand & a half at the minute.
That's £700 or so you'll have to spend on a new one in 2-3 years.

If I was spending a grand or over Id honestly want an IPS screen ,id even take an IPS 1080p over a 4k tn screen for laptop gaming any day of the week.

TyGuy1996

Estimable
May 17, 2015

Both look to be pretty good! my only worry is that the GPU only has 2gb - I've read that it's not really enough nowadays.... I've found the Gigasbyte P35x here which has 8GB (upgradeable to 16) RAM & 8GB 980M GPU - what's your opinion on Gigabyte?
I've seen some things about thermal throttling (but I'm not sure what it even is?)

This Asus ROG also looks to be tremendous value http://

Which one do you think is better? The Asus ROG or the gigabyte?

TyGuy1996

Estimable
May 17, 2015