Laptop help / video card help

mojobo1

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2009
Hey. I've been looking for a new laptop for a while now, and honestly I'm completely lost.

I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I do play games pretty often.

I'm also pretty cheap. My budget is around $500.

I would also prefer a laptop. I know they aren't ideal for gaming, but I like being able to move around.

Now, I do know that playing the newer games like Crysis, Bioshock, etc. isn't very likely for a $500 laptop, but that's okay.

I've been looking at this laptop: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834115572

My main question is this: It has a ATI Radeon HD 3200 graphics card. Now, I have NO knowledge on graphics cards. Besides the fact that high number with the same model basically means the newer version.

Now, how does the "ATI Radeon HD 3200" compare to the "ATI X1300" (system req. for Bioshock)?

Truthfully, I'm not quite sure what to ask. So if anyone has any kind of comment, feel free to just throw it out there.

I do better with examples, so, will this laptop be able to run Bioshock? GrandTheftAuto IV?

Thanks. Any other recommendations for a laptop, or anything, would be greatly appreciated.

The simple answer is no, not very well if at all. The HD 3200 is an integrated graphics processor (built into the motherboard). Integrated GPU are generally terrible at playing games at decent frame rates.

If you want to play games, your best bet is to wait and increase your budget so that you can afford something with a dedicated GPU that will at least give you a satisfying experience.

mojobo1

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2009
Ugh.. I've been thinking that's probably the case. The problem is I just don't want to spend that much. I could probably go a few hundred bucks more, I just don't want to.

Ok, one more question. Currently, I have a fairly old COMPAQ Presario with Windows XP Home Edition, 1GB of Ram, 68 GB harddrive, 1.7GHz AMD Sempron 3200+ processor.