Laptop not charging or receiving power

art_RLB

Commendable
Apr 25, 2016
Apologies in advance, I am not good with tech... My laptop is a Dell Inspiron r15 5520. My niece used the wrong AC adaptor on the laptop. I have two of the exact same cords, the one I was currently using was a replacement for the one that stopped working. She plugged the one that had stopped working into the laptop and the laptop made a snapping sound and went completely dead instantly. I unplugged the cord from the laptop and while still plugged into the wall, in the "box" part it was making an audible, "tic... tic... tic... tic..." sound I believe to be arcing. The laptop wouldn't turn on. I held down the power button for 30 seconds with battery removed, then put the battery back in and it powered up.

Amazingly I hadn't even lost the tabs open, it appeared to be fine. After being on a few hours the "low battery" message came up and at that point I realized the battery was not charging and it was not getting power from the cord. When plugged in the laptop showed it was plugged in, but "plugged in, not charging". I quickly tried to do what I could to go through battery settings and make sure it wasn't just that but the battery ran out and it shut off. Reading through the forums it sounded like it could have been the battery that was an issue and a friend who works in IT confirmed so I bought a new battery. Put that battery in, it turned right back on, but had the same issue. I tried to do a data backup but it didn't finish in time and the laptop died once again.