Laptop Overheating Very Easily

poey27529

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016
About a couple months ago i use to be able to play high demanding games such as far cry 3 , battlefield 4 , and other games on steam with no problem with the temperature.

Right now with my laptop idle it runs at 68-70 degrees Celsius = 154-158 degrees Fahrenheit. But when i play any games it jumps to 85+ degrees Celsius = 185 Fahrenheit. And then the laptop just shuts down and i have to let it cool down before i can use it again. Last time i cleaned my fan was about a 2 weeks ago though so i don't see the problem.

I currently have an Alienware 14 gaming laptop for about 1 year now and this problem has just started to occur not to long ago.

I have a Cooler Master X-Slim notepal cooling fan/pad under my laptop when i play as well.

Is there anything that could be causing my hardware to overheat or something? It never use to overheat before until randomly now.

Hi,

I would suggest cleaning the inside of your laptop and apply new thermal compound of the GPU and CPU help in cooling it down.

Here's a video guide on how to clean and apply new thermal paste.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d73HrEBfKFA

After doing all these, do also a clean install of the graphics card driver.
- Go to Device Manager and uninstall the Nvidia graphics driver.
- Open Programs and Features as well and uninstall anything related to NVIDIA.
- Next is to download and install the latest graphics driver form the manufacturers site.
- Here's the link: nvidia.com/download/index.aspx
- Once installed reboot your laptop for the changes to take effect.
- After the reboot make sure to set Nvidia as the default graphics card.

Blackink

Estimable
Apr 27, 2014
I'd agree with Laptop_Nerd. I didn't view the youtube video that was posted, but in the link I post below, look at the 14 minute time frame and see the "radiator" looking thing he takes off that is connected to the copper pipes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EldGZ0cvBHI