Laptop sound to home theater through TV not working

brianbussie

Honorable
Dec 22, 2013
Okay, first off, let me specify that I had this working at one time for video gaming but I don't know what has happened to make it stop working. I'm not good with A/V stuff, so it might be something really simple. I've searched here and on other sites and haven't found my exact scenario as best I can tell. So if I missed it in my searching, please point me to the answer and accept my apologies up front. Below is the scenario I'm encountering and I very much appreciate your help.

Whenever I watch TV, I get surround through my home theater with no problem. But when I hook up my laptop, I get nothing through my home theater. I have to turn up the volume on my TV and that's all I get.

I have what is now a bit of an older HP Pavilion g7 laptop running Windows 7 and 1 HDMI ports. If you need more information on the laptop setup, let me know. My TV is a Mitsubishi 65" DLP WD-65837 with 3 HDMI ports. The TV doesn't have an optical digital audio jack, but it does have a regular digital audio output jack. My home theater system is a Panasonic SC-BTT370 with Blu-Ray player. And the final variable in the equation is a Motorola DCT6416 III cable box.

I've got the laptop connected via HDMI to HDMI 1 on my TV. HDMI 2 on my TV connects to my cable box. I have a digital audio cable (output) running from my TV to a converter. Then, from the converter I have an optical digital audio cable running to my home theater system. I also have other regular red, white and yellow audio/video cables connecting my TV and my home theater system.

I hope I've explained this well and given you all enough to work with; but if not, let me know and I'll add any information you might need.

Thank you very much!

Solution
big green button underneath all of the response you get in the thread.... you just click on "pick as the solution" for one of them and it marks a thread solved.