Lenovo Y520-15IKBN vs Asus GL553VD-DM064T, same specs €140 difference

Jun 16, 2018
Hi,

So as the title says I've got these 2 laptops exact same specs from what I can see. The only difference I guess must be the RGB keyboard on the Asus.

Is Lenovo a good brand, do they have a good build PC? Which would you guys go for? The Lenovo is €140 cheaper than the Asus, should I pocket the difference and go for the Lenovo?

Thanks in advance.

Just to list the specs: i5 7300HQ, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, GTX 1050 4GB

Solution
As far as I can see, the Amazon MSI has a mechanical HDD and no OS. The Acer from pccomponentes comes with a 768p screen, which quite frankly seems absurd in this day and age, and it runs on Linux.

If I remember correctly, the ASUS from your opening post (the one you have at home right now) has more or less the same specs as the MSI, except the OS, so the ASUS still comes out as a very good deal.

I'm not a GPU expert and all I know about the mobile GTX 1050 versions is that the TI is slightly more powerful and will yield around 10 per cent more FPS. If you're obsessed with FPS then 40€ is probably worth it - personally I'd choose a 1060 card instead. For 'regular' gaming I doubt it's going to be a noticeable difference.

I guess it...
This is going to be difficult...

Can I assume that you've found these laptops on pcbox.com (a Spanish site)? And can I further assume that you're either Spanish yourself or speak Spanish?

If yes to the above, then I have the following comments:

The Lenovo Legion Y520 is a very decent and affordable gaming rig. By all accounts you'll get good specs and decent build-quality. However, most users have reported absolutely horrible battery life (30 to 60 minutes of actual gaming).