Microsoft Surface Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

erodger

Honorable
Feb 9, 2013
So I sold my old laptop because I was not getting any use out of it and being at school I like to walk around lots and a laptop plus notes can give your shoulders an ache when carrying a backpack. I never game on it as much because I got my desktop. So I am looking for a small and light device that will do some word processing and web browsing. I am a writer so Windows 8 seems to be perfect for me as I can use office.

I had bought the Asus Vivotab Smart recently because I saw it looked pretty nice with the transleeve cover. however that cover has not been released in canada and I think even the availability of it is lacking in the states from what I see online. Makes me really wonder why Asus brought out a product with no accessories. And also in Canada, its advertised as a tablet available for a limited time so that frightens me more. Nonetheless, my current vivotab smart is returned and I am now shopping around for another tablet/laptop.

I was considering the surface for a long time. But now I see the surface pro is available. The specs on it is great and it competes nicely with the ultrabooks on the market. I enjoyed using windows 8 with touch so I know I will enjoy the tablet side of things. The big downside I see to this product is the battery life. I am use to a laptop lasting a small amount but a little iffy on it for a tablet.

But it still does attract me and I am interested in some opinions.

Anyone have experience with the Surface Pro or RT and wish to share and help me decide which one is worth it?

Solution
Perhaps a convertible ultrabook like the 12.5" Dell XPS 12:

http://www.dell.com/us/p/xps-12-l221x/pd?~ck=mn&~ck=mn

Or a 13.3" Lenovo Yoga: