My Rode NT1 sounds sooooooo terrible.. Im new at recording professuinally and i was soo excited to hook it up.. its been days

Ali_242

Prominent
Jun 8, 2017
My Rode NT1 sounds sooooooo terrible.. Im new at recording professuinally and i was soo excited to hook it up.. its been days and it still sounds like a fuzzy distorted garbagy mess!!! HELP!! im using 2nd gen sccarlett solo

Ali_242

Prominent
Jun 8, 2017

I'm using a focusrite Scarlett solo 2nd gen as my usb interface. I solved the issue of the distortion by updated some drivers and such. Howvever do u know of any good ways of improving sound quality and getting it louder without all the background noise? I have it on a mic stand. I'm going to invest in some sound proofing equipment and a shield soon

RealBinary

Prominent
Jul 8, 2017

I am having the same issue with the exact same hardware. I am in a very quiet room though, and i have sound proofing tiles all over the place, but in discord/skype, or when professionally recording, i get terrible audio quality and my friends request that i switch to my crappy gaming headset. Any advice from OP or guy who answered?

EtienneD

Prominent
Jul 13, 2017
The scarlet has a driver that can help with the routing through a daw or something like this while recording. I'm thinking your computer isn't recognising the Scarlett as a interface that can input audio. The NT1 requires Phantom power to work, +48v if you didn't know. So if the switch of the phantom power isn't engaged, it probably means that the NT1 isn't even used.