Power And Receiver

spray2000

Estimable
Dec 2, 2015
Okay, I'm wanting to give more power to my receiver.. I have two outlet's and I don't know if I should get two 120v 60hz power cords to run more watts, Or should I just get one, And also I don't know where to look to find a power cord that is AC120v 60hz that has two plongs on both sides of the cord one to go into the receiver and one to go into the wall..

Solution
^ Correct. Any outlet on the back of the receiver would be for a peripheral audio source often used with it, like a turntable, tape deck, or CD player.
What defines the output power of your receiver's amplifier is the internal electronic "guts" of it, and the circuit design used.
If you need more power, you'll probably just need to replace it. Make sure your speakers can handle whatever you're going to pump into them.

Dunlop0078

Estimable
Herald
Feb 13, 2014
Lol what? Im no audio expert but I dont think you can run two 120v lines into your receiver and even if you could that wont give your receivers amp more watts or whatever you think it will do. That second power plug on the back of the receiver is just an extra outlet to power something else like a lamp or whatever, it will not supply your receiver with more power at least im pretty sure it wont. What receiver do you have?

Onus

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2006
^ Correct. Any outlet on the back of the receiver would be for a peripheral audio source often used with it, like a turntable, tape deck, or CD player.
What defines the output power of your receiver's amplifier is the internal electronic "guts" of it, and the circuit design used.
If you need more power, you'll probably just need to replace it. Make sure your speakers can handle whatever you're going to pump into them.

Solution

Karsten75

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2009