Should I buy Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series Smart TV

Tydeocean

Estimable
Mar 12, 2015
Hey,
My father is redoing our house and when i asked him what tv he was putting into my room he told me I could choose. So then I asked him his price range and his response was to try and find the best deal and tell me why thats the one I should buy. Now I'm also a college student so this tv would only be able to be 55inc at max for I can't fit a tv wider. also I was looking at the JS8500 because I would like the tv to last a while in terms of the tech it has available to it. Finally this tv will be used to watch Netflix, youtube, play video games off a console, and a pc.
Thanks for all your help!

Solution
Your dad was probably not thinking about a $1,500 + TV when he said you should chose one if it was a good deal. I'd make sure he knows what price range you are looking at first. Aside from that, you are counting on the TV not breaking in the years you will have it waiting for content to play on it, as well as waiting for the resolution to become common and in use vs the standard 1080 HD now, and paying a premium now for a high end set which would be mid range in several years.

Get a $500 standard HD set now.

A_Goat

Estimable
Nov 30, 2014
Your 4k TV is going to be quite worthless for years to come.
Your console will NOT play at 4k res, and unless you have a super computer your PC will not be gaming at 4k either. (And depending on the computer, it might not even allow 4k res to be displayed)

Netflix will not widely support 4k res for quite some time, and when they do it will be slim to none.
Very few videos on youtube are uploaded in anything higher than 1080P let alone 4k.

Chances are high your cable provider won't even have many 4k shows available (if any).
At this point and time, a 4k TV is a complete waste of money. You'd be much better off getting something closer to 1080P or 1440P and using the extra money to get nicer features and an extra surround sound system.