Sony Working on Multi-Core Design for PS4?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SneakySnake

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009
I seriously hope they don't use the PS3 and 360 with their X1950 and 7800 GTX until 2014, we'll have the 7xxx and 5xx GPU series by then

commandersozo

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2008
I bet it would play Crysis!

I'm sorry, I swear! I won't say it again, I... holy crap, who hired ninjas! No! No!

In all seriousness now: If a more typical multicore processor woul make the system easier to understand for developers, then I say go for it. Yeah, Sony can justify it by saying "It's all part of the plan" and "It extends the lifecycle" but if developers don't develop good games, what's the point?

quantumrand

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009
I've been saying this for a few years now. Sony and MSFT need to design their next gen systems around an SLI/Crossfire platform. Start the system off with a dual core GPU solution, with an expansion port or two.

As an example, you could build a system with a strong media/general processor to drive the system, along with a say 800 stream processor graphics core linked via 256bit bus to say 512MB/1GB of video RAM. Then have an expansion port or two with which the consumer can easily add say a 400 steam processor, 128bit 512MB expansion or two, essentially doubling the graphics power of the system.

That expansion would allow the new game engine that come out two years after the console's release to still function to their full potential, unlike today where 2 years down the line, console games are utter crap and are stagnating game engine growth.

You could even go a step further, leaving out that media processor and driving everything via OpenCL/CUDA style programming on the GPUs exclusively.

quantumrand

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009