Sound bar noob

jballew7

Estimable
Apr 18, 2015
Hi everyone, so I'm a noob to home audio concerning tvs. I've never used any additional speakers other than what the tv has, as they've always satisfied me. But, my new Vizio is giving me some issues. The audio isnt necessarily bad per say but often it's difficult to make out dialog unless I crank the volume way up, but I have neighbors so I don't like doing this. I think this is because the speakers are facing the wall as they are on the rear of the tv. So, I think a sound bar would be a good solution as I assume the speakers project more towards the viewer. I found a 38in bar with a sub I like. But I wanted to see if anyone here can verify this would solve my problem before buying them. It's on Amazon so don't really have way of testing first.

Solution
Yea check the TV's audio settings first. If your TV has different audio settings to produce sound differently then it will be under audio in your TV menu.

Treble can help elevate high frequency sounds such as voice so maybe increase that. All Tvs should have some sort of audio adjustments you can tweak.

Elevating the sub would help floor vibrations but wont help the low level thump neighbors would hear if too loud.

Would have to look at the manual online if theres one to see if it has separate sub volume which it should you would think. Its one of those speakers that sometimes can't be left static depending on movie. Would probably find the volume button on the remote so if you can get a picture of one, take a close up of it looking...

boju

Distinguished
Sound bars are great for small spaces and are cheaper alternative to full blown theater systems and you're right thinking you'll hear more facing forward which you will. Keep in mind you'll need to be able to adjust the sub so make sure it has a volume level for it because that will annoy the neighbors with the doof doof if they're the quiet type.