What cables to use for a home theatre setup with Marantz SR6008

Status
Not open for further replies.

romm3l

Estimable
Aug 18, 2014
Hi there, I am a newbie at home theatre setup. Recently I have purchased this 5.1 setup and haven't got a clue as to what cables or plugs to use and connect all my speakers and devices with the receiver. So these are my hardware:

My receiver: Marantz SR6008
Front: 2 X Polk Audio Rti-A7
Centre: 1 X Polk Tsx 150C
Surround: 2 X Polk Rti-A1
Subwoofer: Polk PSW 110

The size of the room is about 20 X 15 Feet. The front, centre and the sub woofers will be within a short distance of the receiver(as expected). The surround speakers would be about 10 feet away but the cabling would be much longer than that as I would have to run it by the side.

So, the questions that I have are,

1. What cables to connect the speakers with the receiver?(RCA, Coaxial, what width, brand if possible)
2. What cables to use to connect the sub woofer to the receiver? (Specs, brands)
3. Do I need to use cables with different specifications for each connection, i.e receiver to front, receiver to centre, receiver to surround etc?
4. What sort of connectors should I be using? (Specs, brands)

It would be great if someone can advise me with these please, also any suggestions are welcome. Thanks!!

Solution
Hey there,

For the 5 speakers, all you need is decent wire of sufficient gauge.

It's easy enough to get oxygen-free copper wire at good prices so you might as well use that. You can get that most anywhere, a couple of places on the web to get it would be monoprice or blue jeans cable (which are also sold on amazon). Most people just connect them bare. If you want to use terminators, look at Sewell or GLS which can be found on Amazon, or sewelldirect.com / speakerrepair.com.

For the gauge, the following website will guide you:
http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#wiretable