What should I do witht my laptop? (College Student)

darkgiant

Honorable
Sep 14, 2013
Hey Guys,

So I have another question regarding my laptop, I currently have an ASUS K52F laptop that I have been using for three years, and have treated it like my baby to this day! Full specs (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834220964)

Of course, from the specs, you can see that it is a Intel Pentium processor, but my main intentions are for watching movies/videos, word processing, emails and such. I also am in college as a computer science major, and of course would rely on coding on this laptop (I will be taking a coding course once my quarter starts, it starts in one day!).

My current concerns is, I have Windows 7 loaded onto the laptop, it is kind of bogging down now (I should reinstall) but I was wondering if I should install Linux, just to prolong the performance of the hardware. I am very familiar with every single distro out there! (I have experimented with my parent's old T60 laptop) so I am not afraid of any environment, but I don't know which distro would work best with my hardware, as this is a unique Intel HD based setup. If you guys have a recommendation on which linux distro, and why I should use it (making sure it meets my needs) would be awesome! Or of course, if you think I should continue using Windows 7 on this laptop (because of hardware reasons), that is acceptable too!

Another question, my battery life is insanely horrible now (barely hit 20+ minutes unplugged), so I know I need to buy a new battery, do you guys have an recommendation essentially? For some Lenovo Thinkpads, you can buy those extension packs, do such things exist? Would it ever be possible to achieve ~4+ hours of battery life on this laptop? I am willing to spend extra on the battery!

Also, I have built my own desktop PC that I have in my dorm, so that compensates for issues in software/programs that would require more juice.

Thanks once again!

Happy New Years!