What's a good Industrial Design Engineering student's laptop

Kabaal

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2011
Hey, I'm an IDE student from the Netherlands, and need a replacement for my current laptop.

First, my answers to the FAQ:

1. What is your budget?
Up to about E1000,-

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
My current one is a 17" beast, weighing in at about 4-5kgs. I don't mind big, if it does its job.

3. What screen resolution do you want?
Running at 1680x1050 now, it's nice but more is better if it's not too expensive.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
I need it portable so I can use it at home, take it to the library, take it to my courses if needed and use it in long train rides.

5. How much battery life do you need?
The best for my budget, but 3 hours of casual use (browsing, programming, writing papers, not 3 hours of CAD ofc) would be a great improvement.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Currently I sometimes play Fallout3 and Fallout New Vegas, on low to medium settings. I'd love to be able to run GTA IV though, even at low settings.
Gaming is by no means a priority.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
My main uses for it are:
- Photoshop/Illustrator (Poster design, so sometimes even 3x4 meter posters at 100++DPI)
- CAD, SolidWorks to be exact
- Blender (but that'll run on anything)

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
I have 80gb now, Something over 160 would rock.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
Doesn't apply to me.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
This one has lasted 4 years now, and is falling apart (literally). I'd like to use the next one 4-5 years too.

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?