Will this sound bar work with this TV?

tomdoughnut

Honorable
Jun 4, 2013
So i'm a complete noob when it comes to sound bars. I've never used one and therefore have no idea how they hook up to a TV. I wanted to get my mum one for her birthday and wondered if i'd be able to hook one up to her TV. Here's a link to all the ports on her TV http://imgur.com/bguPQjG. And here's a link to the sound bar I was thinking about getting her http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00I98DHW8/ref=ord_cart_shr?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE. If anyone can help me out i'd be super appreciative.

Many thanks.

Tom

Solution
No it will not. The soundbar only has toslink/optical input (just had to search the model on sony's site).

What equipment do you have besides the TV, and is your cable connection directly to the TV or a receiver?

Your older TV only has SCART as an option to output sound, all other ports are input only.
No it will not. The soundbar only has toslink/optical input (just had to search the model on sony's site).

What equipment do you have besides the TV, and is your cable connection directly to the TV or a receiver?

Your older TV only has SCART as an option to output sound, all other ports are input only.

Solution

tomdoughnut

Honorable
Jun 4, 2013

We've got a DVD player and a Tivo box hooked up to the TV and the connection is directly to the TV. I guess I'll have to invest in a new TV if I want to hook up a sound bar. Thanks for the help.

tomdoughnut

Honorable
Jun 4, 2013

Unfortunately I don't think we have the manual anymore and when I found at the name of the TV in the past barely anything comes up online about it. It's probably around 3 - 4 years old and was made by some company I've never heard of called Visual Innovations. Thanks for the suggestion but as I said I don't think there's much information on this TV. I may have to look into buying a newer one in the future.

With a new TV that soundbar would work fine.