Google photos privacy issues? Everything you Need to Know

rozepz

Great
Apr 26, 2018
82
0
80
0


As with every Google service, there is a lot of collecting data going on and with Google Photos, things aren’t that much different. Granted, the service itself doesn’t have that much information nor does it ask for it, but there are still some privacy issues you need to be aware of.

While there may not be that much “issues” as opposed to some other Google services, you’ll still need to tweak a thing or two. It’s nothing too complicated and might be slightly different depending on if you’re accessing Google Photos from your desktop or your mobile. Anyway, here are the things you should know about.


    ■ Open your favorite browser and type photos.google.com in your favorite browser’s address bar and press Enter.

    ■ If you’re not already logged in, click on the blue Go To Google Photos, then sign in with your credentials.



    ■ First we’ll check the sharing option which has some questionable default options. Click on the Sharing on the left side of the page.



    ■ Here you can find your shared albums. Click on one of your albums.

    ■ In the top-right corner of the page, click on the settings menu (the three dots).



    ■ Click on the Sharing options



    ■ Click on the blue slider next to Share to turn off this option. If this option stays on, that means anyone with the link can access your album and photos which is something that many people won’t be comfortable with. There are a few other options here if you want to tweak things further.



    ■ You can also change some things in the general settings. In the upper-left corner of the page click on the three horizontal lines.



    ■ Click on Settings.



    ■ In here you can change several things and it’s all up to your preference, although you might wanna change this. Click on Sharing.



    ■ By default, Remove geo location in items shared by link is turned off. You might wanna turn it on by clicking on the slider next to it if you want to stop the people from seeing where your shared pictures were taken.




All of the photos in Google Photos are public by default, you just need a link to access them. So, check all of these settings carefully and change them all to your liking.

 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Paul Wagenseil Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
M Antivirus / Security / Privacy 1
Paul Wagenseil Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
Paul Wagenseil Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
B Antivirus / Security / Privacy 1
Paul Wagenseil Antivirus / Security / Privacy 2
B Antivirus / Security / Privacy 3
J Antivirus / Security / Privacy 4
M Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
Paul Wagenseil Antivirus / Security / Privacy 1
D Antivirus / Security / Privacy 2
J Antivirus / Security / Privacy 9
J Antivirus / Security / Privacy 1
D Antivirus / Security / Privacy 4
M Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
D Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
M Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
M Antivirus / Security / Privacy 2
Marshall Honorof Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0
R Antivirus / Security / Privacy 0

Similar threads


ASK THE COMMUNITY