How To Block Facebook Messenger from Accessing Your Contacts

tomsguideUS

Estimable
Moderator
Oct 7, 2014
655
2
4,960
9

When you first install the Facebook app on your Android phone, it asks you to synchronize the app with your contacts.

Although enabling synchronization is a good idea in order to become available to all of your friends, you might want to un-sync your contacts and phonebook from your Facebook account when you plan to deactivate or completely delete your account, of if you are heading towards creating a new Facebook profile for your business or personal use.

Regardless of the reason, here’s how you can un-sync your Facebook app from contacts and phonebook on your Android phone:

    ■Turn on your Android phone.
    ■Tap the Menu icon to go to the apps list.

    ■Locate and tap the Facebook icon.

    ■If you are not already signed-in, tap the Log In button after providing necessary credentials in the appropriate fields.

    ■Once the News Feed page opens up, tap the More button (icon with three horizontal lines) from the top-right corner.

    ■On the More interface, tap the App Settings option under the HELP & SETTINGS section.

    ■On the Settings window, tap the Sync Contacts under the OTHER SETTINGS section at the bottom of the interface.

    ■On the Contacts Sync window, tap to select the Remove Facebook data option from displayed list.
    ■Once this is done, tap the Done button from the top-right corner to save the settings and make the changes effective.




 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
S Social Networking 3
K Social Networking 1
P Social Networking 1
A Social Networking 1
R Social Networking 2
G Social Networking 2
S Social Networking 3
J Social Networking 4
U Social Networking 2
N Social Networking 2
A Social Networking 4
M Social Networking 8
D Social Networking 0
D Social Networking 1
L Social Networking 1
R Social Networking 1
R Social Networking 1
S Social Networking 1
tomsguideUS Social Networking 0
K Social Networking 1

ASK THE COMMUNITY