How to Make a Facebook Group Private Using an Android


Facebook allows you to set privacy settings for any group at the time of its creation. There are three privacy settings for any Facebook group that you create, and they are:

[listNum]■Public – When the privacy setting of a Facebook group is set to Public, everyone, including all the Facebook members who are not added to the group, can see the group members and all the posts that are posted inside the group. Also, any Facebook user can search the public groups.

Closed – When the privacy setting of a Facebook group is set to Closed, users who are not added to the group can only see the group members and admins. However, the posts that are posted inside the group are not visible to any person who is not added to the group. Also, any Facebook user can search the closed groups.

Secret – Unlike the two group types above, the secret groups are only visible and available to the members of the group. If the privacy setting of a Facebook group is set to Secret, the group cannot be searched by any Facebook user who is not its member. If any Facebook user wants to join a secret group, he/she can be added only if any existing group member adds the user manually.
[/listNum]

If you have configured the privacy setting of a Facebook group to ‘Open’ or ‘Closed’ at the time of group creation, and now you want to change the setting to ‘Secret’, you can do so by accessing the group settings using your Android smartphone.

Here is how:

    ■Turn on your Android phone.
    ■Tap the Menu icon to go to the apps list.

    ■Locate and tap the Facebook icon.

    ■If you are not already logged-in, provide necessary credentials in the appropriate fields, and tap the Log In button.

    ■Once the News Feed interface opens up, tap the More button (icon with three horizontal lines) from the top-right corner.

    ■On the opened interface, under the GROUPS section, tap the group name for which you want to change the settings (e.g. Tech Forum in this demonstration).

    ■After tapping on the target group’s timeline, tap the Arrow from the right side of the group name.

    ■On the next opened window, tap the Edit Group Settings button.

    ■Once done, on the Edit Group Settings interface, tap the Secret option under the Privacy section.


10. Finally, tap the Save button from the bottom to save the changes.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Y Social Networking 0
I Social Networking 8
F Social Networking 3
D Social Networking 18
dc.clint Social Networking 1
C Social Networking 1
J Social Networking 1
L Social Networking 4
Dhruba raj regmi Social Networking 1
Mhmadhani Social Networking 8
S Social Networking 1
M Social Networking 0
Hordofa Jemal Social Networking 1
PhilipMichaels Social Networking 3
Z Social Networking 1
P Social Networking 4
S Social Networking 2
Ahmadovich Social Networking 4
viveknayyar007 Social Networking 0
viveknayyar007 Social Networking 0

ASK THE COMMUNITY