120 frames per second is gaming’s future — and something PS5 Pro needs to deliver

d0x360

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2016
That is a big ask even with frame gen considering the CPU upgrade is minimal and likely not even enough for 60fps and that's with ai upscaling using rdna3 with the rdna4 AI block glued on.

I'm no engineer but if visuals get a quality boost to even Alan Wake 2's medium/high settings mixed together for maximum efficiency and you render at 1440p then upscale to 4k that would use all extra GPU resources available at 30fps.

So games would either need to stay visually the same as now but would have better upscaling since they have been using upscaling aggressively for 2023 already and usually at PC low settings at 1440p or below and with dynamic resolution on top of FSR2.

Frame gen from 60 to 120 is ok for most genres but not all but from 30 to 60 feels awful in basically everything. 40 to 60 might be acceptable (I haven't tried it) since 40hz is the frame time rendering middle point between 30hz and 60hz (no it's not 45, that's the frame rate mid point which is different) so 40 to 60 might feel ok but beyond that there would be too much latency and you can bet you last dollar they will be using ai upscaling and frame gen in basically everything.

Frame times of a 40hz min frame time rendering rate in a 120hz "container" feels much smoother than 30hz and also meets the minimum requirement for VRR without using low frame rate compensation and also allows you to leave it unlocked and often fps will stay near 60 going by Sony titles made to run at 40hz minimum in a 120h container.

120 native isn't going to happen though, not even at 1080p. Not unless Sony breaks backwards compatibility with PS5 and uses a core from Phoenix instead of zen 2.

Dec 29, 2023