~$1300 School Laptop

Grezkore

Honorable
Nov 5, 2013
Greetings!

I'm a university student and I've recently received a $1300 (before tax) bursary, by my university, to purchase a laptop. Its minimum requirements are supposed to be 2.5ghz i5/i7 intel processor, 200+ gb hard-drive, and nothing larger than 15.5". I'd like a PC that's light, quiet, and has a long battery life (is 8 hours possible? -- I don't want to drag around an adapter). I'd like to pack in as much high-quality hardware as I possibly can to get the bill to $1300, without going $200 over ($1500 max, excluding tax).

Any suggestions would not go amiss!

Thank you! =)

*EDIT*

1) What is your budget?

$1300, but i can go as high as 1500

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

13-15.5"

3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.

I suspect somewhere online, for Canadians (i don't want to mess around with import fees)

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?

No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

School-type stuff. I'm finishing up a degree in genetics and a degree in biochemistry, so I do alot of bioinformatics rsearch (protein folding, linux (unix?) programming, ect). I intend to record lectures (using One Note). Also, I've got ADHD, so I will be using Kurzweil to help with reading.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?

To school, every day.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?

I don't intend to, but it's always possible (i tend to play games like Civilization or World of Warcraft, still an avid fan of Battlefield 1942 wake)

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?