Another Cliche "Which Language" Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
I've been programming on and off for a few years now. I'm mostly self taught, but did take 2 courses in highschool that dealt with very basic programming. I've aways really enjoyed it, but found myself held back from completing any projects due to my lack of knowledge. After this happened I would always find myself learning a new language. I'm wanting to start getting a bit more serious about this, so I need to narrow things down a bit, and really set out to learn a couple languages well, rather than know the basics of a whole bunch. There's kind of two parts to my question, so I'll split it up.

I do a bit of web dev, and a bit of server scripting since I got my home server set up. I'm fairly competent with HTML and CSS, and can throw together a decent looking webpage with no issues. I'm not too bad with PHP/SQL, and I've dabbled in Python (and really want to learn more of it!). This portion is pretty good, imo. My only real questions here are:

1.) Is JavaScript really worth taking the time to learn, or will Google suffice for the majority of things?
2.) Is there anything else that is "fundamental" to web and server dev that I don't know already?