Asus Zenbook - i5 vs i7?

TheKirk

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2011
Hi fellas

I'm about to buy a new laptop. It replaces my old, big, heavy no-brand pc, which I have had some problems with - main problems being:
- Battery
- Heat
- Size (when used in school)

So, given that I'm studying, I think it would be ideal to replace it with a so called ultrabook, and I have fallen in love with the Asus Zenbook.
But theres something I'm not quite sure about. Will I be able to run games on that? By games I mostly refer to Football Manager and Diablo III. I know that both i5 and i7 are powerful processors, but would I be able to run Diablo III with any of them? Or would you recommend me getting the i7 model? Or would it just be a waste of time to play games on this machine?

Theres quite a bit difference in the price of these different models, so it's quite important for me to know.

Another question about this PC - is it possible to switch out the SSD harddrive (fairly easily)?

Thank you!

Hello and welcome to the forums
You will be able to run games,but don't expect a great performance at all.(Ultrabooks aren't for gaming)
Between i5/i7,well if the price difference isn't much,go with i7 but if you care a lot about battery and heat,go with i5.It runs cooler
As for the SSD,yes you can easily swap it with something faster if you want(if that's what you are asking)

Warmacblu

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2011
You're just in luck, I have an i7 Zenbook and have been playing the Diablo III beta with it.

It runs the game just fine on the lowest settings but it does get hot while doing so. I mainly play on a desktop with a quad core i7 and a GTX 580 so playing on the Zenbook is not ideal but if I want to play for a few minutes during lunch or something, it's definitely doable. When I am not gaming, the Zenbook stays fairly cool; I can keep it on my lap all day without any discomfort.

You can take out the SSD but that requires you take apart the entire laptop. Why would you want to remove it?