Best laptop for architecture major?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aznswagga

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
I am an architecture student and in my freshman year of college. I usually use Revit architecture for my Studio class but my current laptop is not good enough for rendering and sometimes shuts down without any shutting down process.

1_What is your budget?

aprox. 1500$

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

15-16"

3_What screen resolution do you want?

Whatever meets the requirement for the architecture and design programs listed below

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

both

5_How much battery life do you need?

The longer, the better. But most likely i will be working while the laptop is being charged

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

No

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.)

Architecture and design programs: like AutoCAD, 3d Max, Photoshop, Revit Architecture

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need?

At least 250 GB.

9_If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post the links to them.

-

10_How long do you want to keep your laptop?

3 years or longer

11_What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?

DVD ROM/Writer

12_Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.

I've had sony vaios before and i like the way they work. But any brand of laptop is fine. I don't think i would want a Macbook though because i'm used to using windows laptops

13_What country do you live in?

United States

14_Please tell us any additional information if needed.

Graphics card need to be good enough for those architecture programs.