Solved! Desktop Replacement advice/opinions

sluggishgoat

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2011
Hi, I am an OTR truck driver looking into a high-end desktop replacement. I would love to put the $ towards a monster desktop; I know it would yield better results at a fraction of the cost; but, since I'm only home 2-3 days every month or two, I wouldn't be around to enjoy it. Therefore, I gotta go with a laptop that can ride with me in the truck. I also don't know enough about putting them together to build my own, so that's out of the question. Just thought I'd ask here & see what comes up.

1. What is your budget?
>>Not really an issue. Looking for the ultimate dream machine to buy around spring-time as a bday gift to myself. [:mohsentux]
Most of the "enthusiast" builds I've flirted with have started around $1000 or so, and have gone upwards of $6-8000..
Would like some advice/opinions before making a serious investment. And, before I unnecessarily spend money that could go towards more
high-wattage amplifiers, giant speaker cabinets & subwoofers, and other music gear. Basically, I see it as a very powerful tool,
and am willing & able to put in whatever it takes to have a real beast of a machine.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
>>17" or 18".. the big boys. It's pretty much gonna be my passenger & co-pilot the majority of the time, and a weapon of mass destruction when I'm home.
I'm not concerned about whether it fits into my pocket or not. If it could come built into a robot dog or a bear or somethin, that'd be fine.

3. What screen resolution do you want?
>>1080p. I like things to look good, and I've got a real sharp eye for tiny detail.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
>>Yup. Any sort of desktop setup would require straps, mounting, etc. & would get annihilated on bumpy roads. Gotta stick with laptop.

5. How much battery life do you need?
>>Will be plugged into the inverter almost all the time, so that's no big deal.