Gaming laptops overpriced?

zental

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2004
I've got a few questions about laptops because I've never bought one before. I work Helpdesk for a living and I've built my desktop machines for years now, but laptops always seem to elude me. It's hard to upgrade them, and the prices are really off the wall when you try to compare it to a desktop unit. I really wish I could just build my own laptop like my desktops, but alas that wont happen.

My question to everyone is this: Is there any way I'm going to get away with a gaming laptop that will last me a few years for under $3000? I've been looking around on Dell and Alienware and what i've come up with is that 3k is about the number I'm going to have to go with because of the gaming needs i have.

I have a perfectly capable desktop unit already, so what I might end up doing is waiting until that unit gets outdated and buy a new laptop at that point... but I just want to know what you guys think. I really just want the laptop to be on par with my desktop or maybe a little above.

Right now my desktop is a:
E4400 2.0ghz core duo
8800GTS 320mb vid card
2gigs dual channeled ddr2 800

it pretty much plays any game i throw at it without any problems. I would just like to be able to have the mobility of a laptop. I love the payment plans dell gives you though because It's not like i have 3k laying around to drop on a laptop, but I'm just not sure if i should get one like that at this point.

There's the Clevo M570ru that's sold by sagernotebook.com and xoticpc.com as the 5793. I would like to point you to killernotebooks.com, but his prices may not be to your liking either.

Comes with Core2 CPU's 8800mGTX graphics cards up to 4gb of RAM adn 7200rpm HDDs for around $2500.

theworminator

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2006