GeForce GTX1070 laptops... MSI or Asus?

Arravis

Commendable
Aug 18, 2016
So I'm looking at the MSI GT62VR Dominator Pro-005 ($2000) and the Asus ROG GL502VS-DB71 ($1700).

I'm looking to transfer over from desktop to a laptop, so I'm looking for a laptop that will essentially be docked about half the time that it's used, so I suspect that battery life won't be a huge deal, and a monitor that isn't amazing won't be a huge deal either since I'll have my pre-existing monitor.

A bigger battery, better monitor, dvd player, along with more ram (external dvd-player and ram I can always add later to the Asus) seem to constitute the main advantages of the MSI. I am aware of the MSI Pro-073, but the 128 GB SSD is too small for me.

I've also heard that MSI's can run hot and therefor be a little more unreliable in comparison to Asus, but I can't confirm that fully. Anyway, I'm not a pro, so I wanted some pro opinions, any advice would be appreciated!

Solution
If you are looking for a desktop replacement isn't the asus g series better than the gl as they tend to be bigger and have better cooling. As for the msi, it it true that they do run hot. In the gt series, that is not the issue but noise can be. Asus laptops are generally cooler.

However I would recommend that you try and get a barebone laptop so that you can make upgrades later on.

one9712745

Commendable
Aug 9, 2016
Same dilemma here.
I don't whether Thunderbolt 3 will be worth it, but MSI supports while ASUS doesn't.
And depending on countries, it seem that MSI offers 1-2 yrs support and upgrade to 1080MXM later on? If this is true then this would be a deal breaker.

Brent_12

Commendable
Sep 30, 2016