Help! Dell or Lenovo CAD Laptop??

jel604

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
I'm having trouble trying to decide between a Dell Precision series, http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/precnnb?c=ca&cs=cabsdt1&l=en&s=bsd
or Lenovo W series,
http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/webca/LenovoPortal/en_CA/catalog.workflow:category.details?current-catalog-id=12F0696583E04D86B9B79B0FEC01C087&current-category-id=66A14C04563E40139712F2C42B71AF59
laptop.
I'm an engineering student who uses AutoCAD/Inventor, and some Soildworks applications. A 512Mb Quaddro card will be sufficient for quite a while, but I do need a laptop with some beef. After I'm done customizing any one of the Dells, they are usually ~1k more than their base price if I'm lucky. The Lenovo's are even worse. I really don't know much about laptop compatability or how to modify their components later, as I assume it must be more difficult than for a standard desktop. My price range is about $3500 (cad), and I would prefer the 17" screen if possible. I know it may take some time, but if anyone could throw out some possible builds for laptops or opinions on one/type may be better cost/performance wise that would be great. I'm pretty lost here, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

jel604

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
I just read the FAQ for buying a laptop, http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-50797_20_0.html, and here are some of my criteria:

Budget ~$3500 (cad)

From what I have read, the 17" WUXGA (1920x1200) display is the best, and would prefer this. If I am wrong then a different model would be fine.

Portable laptop, I already have a desktop that I built. If laptop proves to be powerful/useful enough, may consider getting rid of desktop.

As much battery life as possible! IE. 9 cell at least, more if possible (haven't found any more than 9 yet though)