Help with a supposed virus issue

fma13

Estimable
Mar 13, 2015
First of all, let me clarify that I'm not a computer expert, so some of the things I'm going to write here might seem ridiculous to a knowledgeable person on the matter.

I started working an office job on a relatives company, it's small and pretty tight knit, however there are a couple of people who don't really like me that much, to put it nicely. When I arrived on January 2015 I didn't have much work to do, I usually spent 5 - 6 hours sitting on my desk without anything to do, so I ended up downloading some games to entertain myself from Emuparadise, specifically GBA games. I quickly realized it was a stupid idea and ended up deleting the emulator, however the rom files were still there in the computer on the download folder, because I forgot to delete them. Keep in mind this was back in early January 2015. After that point I never touched a game or downloaded anything else. Keep in mind that I'm not the only one who has access to this computer, there are a couple of people who use it too.

Yesterday, as soon as I turned on the computer, it started having problems. The antivirus started failing all of a sudden, I couldn't open any office program, or Chrome or pretty much anything.
Later that day I was told that the reason behind the computer crashing was that I had downloaded those games. They were 2 .rar files, which hadn't been opened since they were downloaded. I just played those roms a couple of times and then never opened them again. I remember that I made sure to analyze those files with the anti-virus we had installed back then (Panda), and it didn't give any alert of any file being infected or anything.