Help with picking a new laptop, please.

testudoAubreii

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012
Hello,

I am in the market for a new laptop. My late 2008 MacBook Pro is showing its age and, in fact, I am really in fear that it will give out on me soon. It just shuts down randomly and I don't know how long it has left. Anyhow, I was wondering if anyone has some suggestions on laptops.

Here are some of the things that I do, or that I will need a laptop to do for me:

Adobe Creative Cloud Applications (I am a web developer)
Act a media center when I am at home (XBMC, streaming all types of media files)
Very light gaming, if any at all (just in case :p)
Budget: under $1000 - That is my limit, but if I can a way better deal, I am all for it.

I need it to be portable, that is why I am going with a laptop. I think that I want to give Windows 8.1 a go instead of OSX this time around.

Thank you in advance for any and all help, advice and suggestions.

Testudo

testudoAubreii

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012

Wow, that is a great price. So, you think that is good enough to have, let's say, Photoshop, Illustrator and Dreamweaver open at the same time, as well as multiple browsers and tabs?

TwistedFury

Honorable
Nov 1, 2013

Oh yea, most definitely.

testudoAubreii

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012

Thanks!

Do you think this can output at 1080p to my TV, and play all types of media files? Sorry if that seems like silly questions, but I am just trying to make sure.

TwistedFury

Honorable
Nov 1, 2013

Yes you could. It's not a silly question either man.

testudoAubreii

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012
Alrighty, so now my budget is significantly lower. I have to find something that will just be used for web development. I mean, I would like to use it to stream media files, but gaming is out. I really and absolutely need to have Photoshop, Illustrator and Dreamweaver open at the same time, as well as multiple browsers and browser tabs.

My new budget is $600. Any advice?

TwistedFury

Honorable
Nov 1, 2013