Home Audio - What is the best I can get for least amount of money?

iPen

Estimable
Aug 1, 2015
Hello all,

Background
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to my PC-TV-monitor speakers.

I've realized that my tv speakers really don't compare to the headphones that I sometimes wear.

But, I don't really want to be wearing my headset for most of what I do, which is for watching movies, YouTube videos, and FPS gaming.

Goal
I'm looking to upgrade my home audio from my TV speakers to a surround sound experience, with I'm guessing two bookshelf speakers (to the right and left of me) with a sub woofer (?), for the minimally best, worthwhile quality at the lowest price.

Which one?
I researched this a bit online and it looks like I'd want a bookshelf speaker due to space constraints. Furthermore, from what I've read, it sounds like a sub woofer makes all the difference, as long as they're "quality" ones, though I wouldn't know what that means. Can you please let me know which speakers are the minimally best, worthwhile quality for the lowest price? I know there are a lot of bargain brands out there and many at Wal-Mart and big box stores, but I don't want to just buy something without researching.

Positioning
This home audio setup would be for a small, enclosed room of roughly the size of 12' x 15'. If I can get by with two bookshelf speakers to the right and left of me, I think that I would need sound coming out of the bookshelf 6"- 8" directly to my left at ear level, and speakers to the right of me (either 2 feet right and to the back or "SE" of me at chest level, or about 7 feet away from me to the right at "S-SE" of me at neck level). Are the speakers to close to my ear? If so, I can put the left speaker higher up at the very top of the bookshelf, and the right one 7 feet away on a stand.

If the positioning of the sound can be best achieved some other way (e.g. different combinations of location and number of speakers), please let me know.