I review Macs for a living, and I install these 5 apps first on every MacBook

Aug 23, 2024
While setting up your new Mac, remember to install TextSniper! It's a game-changer for quickly extracting text from images or screenshots. It's perfect for reviewing apps or grabbing info from non-editable sources. It'll save you tons of time and hassle.

Aug 25, 2024
Wow, no security or antivirus apps? My very first two installs are always Little Snitch and Malware Bytes.

After that Firefox, and then in no particular order, come crucial MacOS improvements such as Jumpcut, Bartender, Moom, and Tuxera NTFS.

Then iTerm, Mimestream, BBEdit, Syncthing, openVPN Connect and Google Drive. Gimp is the only one on your list that might crack my first twenty.

Aug 26, 2024
Wow, no security or antivirus apps? My very first two installs are always Little Snitch and Malware Bytes.

After that Firefox, and then in no particular order, come crucial MacOS improvements such as Jumpcut, Bartender, Moom, and Tuxera NTFS.

Then iTerm, Mimestream, BBEdit, Syncthing, openVPN Connect and Google Drive. Gimp is the only one on your list that might crack my first twenty.
When I first came over to the Mac I installed an antivirus program thinking it would do something.. (intego -- before all the others arrived)... all it did was cause random kernel panics. I then read what it protected against at the time, and the list was basically a list of things that a person with physical access would have to install on the computer. macOS already has built in anti-virus software for known threats (XProtect). Little Snitch as a monitor/firewall against unwanted information gathering for advertising - is nice though. I also install pretty much only user space software and software from known publishers... though I do have a few terminal apps through homebrew (though they are known sources - not randomly selected ones).

Aug 26, 2024