Solved! I would like to increase my laptop's ram and upgrade to an SSD. What should I know and check before buying them?

Marishe

Estimable
Apr 20, 2017
Hello.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to doing computer upgrades. I would like to upgrade my laptop's RAM from 8 GB to 20GB. I would also like to get a 240GB SSD.

I only know about the most basic stuff when it comes to computer parts and I'm worried that I might end up getting something that would not fit or work well with my system or won't work at all.

Can you please tell me what I need to check to ensure that the memory stick and SSD I would like to buy will fit or work well with my current system?

The full specs of my laptop can be seen below:

I'm thinking of getting two of these for the RAM and for the SSD. Can you please tell me if they could be a good match or, if you had more time, can you please tell me what advantage or disadvantage one would have over the other?

RAM

Kingston ValueRAM 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4 Non-ECC CL17 SODIMM Laptop Memory Ram (Price: USD 70.57 )
Kingston ValueRAM 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4 Non-ECC CL19 SODIMM Laptop Memory Ram (Price USD 70.57)
Kingston ValueRAM 8GB 2666Mhz DDR4 Non-ECC CL19 SODIMM 1Rx8 Laptop Memory RAM (Price: 39.44) - back up option in case the budget gets tighter

SSD
(Should get an internal or external SSD?)

Kingston A400 240GB SSD SATA3 2.5 (SA400S37/240G) (Price: USD 37.26 )
Kingston A400 SSDNow SSD 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive - Increase Performance (Price: USD 36.28 )
Western Digital WDS240G2G0A 240GB 2.5 Solid State Drive (Price: USD 36.26)